Amish Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sorry it has been so long since I have posted, but I am BACK, I haven’t really been anywhere, just busy cleaning, working, and reading books!

Yes you read the title right, I made Amish Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I have been reading a ton of books by Beverly Lewis about the Amish and while they are fiction I believe they are was spurred me to start cooking a ton of recipes from scratch, well that and it is much healthier eating for everyone when I know exactly what is in it.  Many of the books have mentioned a lot of sweets and while I will probably eventually get through all of them, it will take a while because sweets are not good for you.

Anyways, her books do not come with recipes so I have to look them up for myself.

I found this recipe at Amish365

Amish Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 8 ounces sour cream
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 6 cups flour
  • 12 ounces chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine ingredients in order listed and mix well, until dough is smooth and chocolate chips are evenly mixed.
  3. Drop cookie dough by tablespoon onto lightly greased cookie sheet.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, until lightly golden.

 

Let me start out by saying this was the STICKIEST cookie dough I have EVER worked with at least the first night.  It was really late when I made this so I ended up putting it in the fridge for the night and the next night it was a lot easier to work with.  While I was typing up the ingredients I realized that I forgot to add the salt!  It didn’t seem to mess with the taste thought, while I thought they were VERY crunchy (just needed a glass of milk) they we really good.  They were sweet but not cookie sweet, it was really hard to explain.  After a while I thought of a waffle cone.  Michael and the girls LOVED them.  I took them to work and a few friends tried them out and loved them too, the only thing I heard were they were very crunchy.

Well on night two, since the dough was cold I was able to roll it into little balls. I put one batch in for only 10 minutes but they still seemed a little doughy in the middle so I put in another batch for the full 15 minutes and they came out perfect.  So I guess the secret to these cookies is for them to be cold.

These were a wonderful success much to my surprise.  I remember growing up I would always turn my nose up to the thought of eating sour cream and now I put it on everything and now apparently in my cookies.  I will have to remember when trying future Amish recipes that they will probably be huge batches because they were cooking for large families.  This really did make a LOT of cookie dough.  I will definitely be making this for the next bake sale at work, but will probably only be labeling them as chocolate chip cookies.

I had one more batch to go in the oven but I decide to put them in the freezer.  I will bake them in a few days to see how they turn out.

Give them a try, tell me what you think!

~ Belinda

 

Leave a comment